July 20, 2010

Comic-Con Film Festival 2010 Official Selection


Comic-Con International, the largest comic book convention in the Western Hemisphere, announced official selections for its 2010 Independent Film Festival. The festival is held in conjunction with the convention from July 22 to 25.

Filmmaker Lloyd Kaufman (Troma Studios), magazine publisher/filmmaker Kerry O'Quinn (Starlog, Fangoria), and animator Mike Roush (Metalocalypse) are this year's judges for films in competition. The films selected have no current distribution deals in place.

"The film festival is a valued part of the convention from both the fans' and Comic-Con's perspective," said David Glanzer, Comic-Con's director of marketing and public relations. "It continues to be our privilege to offer independent filmmakers this platform to showcase their unique artistic voices."

In all, 42 features and shorts will compete in seven categories: Action/Adventure, Animation, Comics-Oriented, Documentary, Horror/Suspense, Humor and Science Fiction/Fantasy. Schedules permitting, many films will have a member of the production company on hand to discuss their project and answer questions from the audience.

Official selections include:

Action/Adventure Category

The Action Hero's Guide to Saving Lives - Director: Justin Lutsky
The Danger Element - Director: John Soares

Animation Category

Mutantland - Director: Phil Tippett
Death Row Diet - Directors: Mike Salva/Tom Snyder
Ormie - Director: Rob Silvestri
Lifeline - Director: Andres Salaff
The Mouse That Soared - Director: Kyle Bell
Vive Le Crise! - Director: Alexi Gubenco
Little Old Ladies - Director: John Varvir
The Way to Heaven - Directors: Dalton Grant/Mier Tang
Articulate! - Directors: Marianna Shek and Timothy Bond
The Cow Who Wanted to Be a Hamburger - Director: Bill Plympton

Comics-Oriented Category

The Legacy - Director: Mike Doto
Shadow Angel - Director: Heather Donnell
Cancer Man - Director: Jared Billings
Street Angel - Director: Lucas Testro
The League - Director: Kyle Higgins
Mastermind - Director: Susan Lee

Documentary Category

Comic-Kaze - Director: Marcello Rubino
Comic Book Literacy - Director: Todd Kent
The Vinyl Frontier - Director: Daniel Zana
Marwencol - Director: Jeff Malmberg
New Brow: Contemporary Underground Art - Director: Tanem Davidson

Horror/Suspense Category

The Window - Director: Ryan Spindell
Mistaken Identity - Director: Tim Russ
Things We Leave Behind - Director: Andrew Brand
Death in the Garden - Director: Michael Chrisoulakis
The Price to Pay - Director: Paul Gayard
Minuteman - Director: Mark Millhone

Humor/Parody Category

Twelve - Director: Ryan Silbert
Go Sukashi! - Director: Justin Spurlock
The New Dad's Survival Guide - Director: Michael Chew
Walk - Director: Joe Gallina
The Substitute - Directors: The Cox Brothers
Thunder Chance - Director: Sean-Michael Smith
Herpes Boy - Director: Nathaniel Atcheson

Science Fiction/Fantasy Category

Mr. Bojagi - Director: Marco van Belle
Enigma - Directors: The Shumway Brothers
Hunter Prey - Director: Sandy Collora
Stingray Sam - Director: Cory McAbee
A Time for the Heart - Director: Christopher Allen
I (Heart) Doomsday - Director: Patrick Downing

A complete schedule for the festival is available at Comic-Con.org.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Hi man.

Post a Comment

Merci pour vos commentaires :) Thanks for your comments ;)